Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Timberjack vs. Woodsmoke

9K views 11 replies 8 participants last post by  Dead Reckoner 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi,

I'm quite new to the world of mountain bike but I got sucked in quite completely, riding almost every day. As a result, my used diamondback overdrive is falling apart pretty quickly (and dangerously at times).

For a matter of "bike store affiliation", my choice are on Surly, Specialized, or Salsas... I'm leaning towards the latter, so this is the question: is the Woodsmoke worth the price difference? What improvement would it bring compared to the Timberjack? Besides the larger tire clearance...

Thanks!

#2 ·
I am a Salsa, Surly, Marin fan. I prefer Steel over Aluminum. I do want a Carbon Woodsmoke. Timberjack has great reviews, but it's Aluminum. Aluminum rides harsher compared to Carbon and Steel. The price on the Timberjack is fantastic.

#5 ·
Through personal experience I'm going to say that is 100% false. Coming from riding a salsa El Mar SS through super gnar **** for the last 7 yrs and riding plus bikes for the last 2 the Aluminum bikes today are more supple than today's carbon built bikes. They are crazy stiff. The timberjack will be more supple and has slightly less slack headangle putting ur weight a bit more forward. The woodsmoke will be a nice ride as well but the timberjack will be a more comfortable bike..ur choice depends on what kind of riding you will be doing with this bike...timberjack for more tech and climbing and the woodsmoke for more flowy oriented trail conditions...

#7 ·
Frame materials?? Here is one man's opinion. http://sheldonbrown.com/frame-materials.htmlA

I have ridden and owned titanium, carbon, aluminum and steel.

I scratch the heck out of my bikes so I don't like carbon for that reason.

Suspension, tire size, geometry and tire air pressure are a lot bigger part of the equation than frame material vis a vis ride quality and comfort in my opinion.