2 sets of wheels for the same bike- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2020

2 sets of wheels for the same bike

Hello,

My apologies if this has been asked, but I couldnít find it on a quick search. Also, I am very new to mountain biking.

I recently ordered a 2021 Commencal META HT AM Race 29. I struggled between it and the 27.5+ model. My question is how feasible would it be to have an extra set of wheels that I could easily swap out if I wanted to ride 27.5+?

thanks

J

mtbr member
    Jun 2017
    Very feasible? You just get a 27.5+ wheelset with the correct axle spacing, get rotors, tires, and cassette.

SPECIALizED
    I have two wheelsets for my Jet 9. I run the same cassette and rotors on both sets so it's a 2 minute swap with no adjustments needed.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Ideally, get a wheelset with the same hub or you might have to use shims for rotors...I have two wheelset for my Fatbike, my gravel/allroad bike and my Ripmo...
    2015 Salsa Blackborow 1
    2017 Devinci Hatchet Carbon
    2009 Spec Tricross Sport
    2019 Ibis Ripmo

mtbr member
    Echo what others have said: get same hubs and rotors so don't need to fiddle faddle with brake caliper adjustments/rubbing, or be dang sure all are same widths.

Being able to just swap and go is 10000x better than having to worry about micro adjustments.

Also, keep in mind you'll have lower bottom bracket on the 27.5+ vs the 29.

mtbr member
    I had 4 wheelsets for my Foes Mutz. 29er, 27.5+, 26 fat, and 26 studded fat. Depending on the 27.5s and 29s the bottom bracket won't change much. I run 27.5x3.0 an d 29x2.6 and its only a 1/4' difference.

mtbr member
    Aug 2020
    Thanks for all the replies. Iím now starting to wonder if it would be better just to buy another bike rather than buy another set of wheels, tires, rotors, and cassette. Lol. Iíll have to crunch the numbers.

This place needs an enema