mtbr member
    Jan 2008

Yeti ASR5 C for racing

Reading alot of posts here and there which talk about the asr5 being a perfect trail bike that rips the downhill and can occasional race. Why occasionally? With the fork at 120 and Propedal on, knowing that what goes up must come down, what make a Spec Epic 26 or 29er a better racer? The frame is the same weight, and I can get the same carbon wheels if I want/need. I don't want to be the guy who shows up at the weekly races with the hardtail but never rides it otherwise. But I am a midpack Expert class weekly racer with yearly trips to moab and yearly 100-miler endurance races, who wants ONE bike (and I need a new one). Is it the ASR5? Help me out here. Any thoughts?

mtbr member
    Jul 2004

Good job!

Quote Originally Posted by rickonayeti View Post
    Reading alot of posts here and there which talk about the asr5 being a perfect trail bike that rips the downhill and can occasional race. Why occasionally? With the fork at 120 and Propedal on, knowing that what goes up must come down, what make a Spec Epic 26 or 29er a better racer? The frame is the same weight, and I can get the same carbon wheels if I want/need. I don't want to be the guy who shows up at the weekly races with the hardtail but never rides it otherwise. But I am a midpack Expert class weekly racer with yearly trips to moab and yearly 100-miler endurance races, who wants ONE bike (and I need a new one). Is it the ASR5? Help me out here. Any thoughts?
    I had no problem racing my asr-5c this year and last year. My lap times were actually faster with the 5 then the asr 4 I can attribute that to the extra travel kept me fresher and it climbs just as fast. My current bike weights in under 23lbs 5 inch travel. It's the best kept secret out there. Cheater bike! I suck in 29ers all the time!

MC MasterShake