mtbr member

Cool-blue Rhythm Yeti 575 vs. Intense 5.5 EVP FRO

I'm soliciting your Yeti expertise to determine which is the better bike. I do alot of xc style riding with long rides in the mountains on the weekends. The 5.5 is alot more prevalent here in Canada than the Yeti but I want to get opinions on the "better" machine.

Who is John Galt?
    Wow, that would be an interesting comparison. On paper these bikes would be pretty close, but a better comparison would be the Blur LT vs. Intense 5.5. I can't help you much here although I studied the Intense pretty close when I was looking at Santa Cruz. Singletrack mag had a nice review of this bike, they wrote that it tended to ride kind of high in the travel and wasn't their favorite bike on epic rides. Of course you are going to hear about the maintenence issues of a VPP suspension which gives the Yeti a big advantage. Also you can get into a 575 for $2400 or less with carbon bars and seatpost, race face crank. You'll pay near that for the Intense frame.
    What, me hurry?

mtbr member
    Thanx for the feedback. I did alot compasions of the Blur vs the Intense and liked the Intense better. The 575 is very high on my list but the slack headtube angle throws me a bit. Yeti says its 69 degrees or so and Intense (and Blur) come in around 71. How is the Yeti for handling, turning, climbing,...??

Nightriding rules SuperModerator
    I think I can comment on the head angle, I switched from a Spec Epic to the 575 and have seen no problem on the climbing, but I do notice more stability going down, specially with a longer travel fork like my Pike..... don't sweat the head angle, I personally consider it slacker a little better....

mtbr member
    Jan 2004