mtbr member

Taco style bash 1x on SB95c

So I'm looking for a bashguard for my 95c.* I was surprised by the change in spec and was expecting a 3x10 but the bike came with an XT 2X10 crank, so my usual method of pulling the big ring and replacing it with a bash won't work.* I'm about to drop both stock rings and replace the outer with a Wolftooth 32T N/W.* As far as I can tell, my only option is an ISCG mounted guard of some sort, which is fine, as the 95c has a removable ISCG mount.

With the N/W ring and clutch RD, I won't need a chain guide (and would prefer not to add superfluous stuff), so I am looking for an ISCG mounted taco-style bash guard.* So far, all I have come across is the MRP XCG guard.* According to the MRP site, this comes in a variety of flavors and will fit rings of 36, 40 or 44 outer rings.* I've never used one of these before.* Silly question, but I presume it won't be a problem to use it with a 32t ring?

Another option would be the AMg, though I don't know that I need the upper guide or the Micro, which has an upper and a lower guide.*

The options are confusing!* Anything else I should be looking at?* Any suggestions for one or another?

mtbr member
    I have not picked one up yet myself but according to the web this one should work on a 2x10 Blackspire Defender Bash Guard

Spring! Spring! Spring!
    I've used both the MRP products on my 95a...they work well. Yes, they work with 32t ring. The AMG has a much more sturdy back plate, but requires a bit of spacers to not hit the rear triangle ... That may but be an issue with the carbon frame though. I ended up cutting the top fin off my AMG when I went narrow-wide ring and it no longer needs the spacers.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

CJH
    mtbr member
    Apr 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by trumpus View Post
    The options are confusing!* Anything else I should be looking at?* Any suggestions for one or another?
    Confusing to say the least.