mtbr member

Switch from 575 to SB66C? Or keep 575 & get a 7 inch bike?

I currently ride a 2011 575 and want something new for 2012.

Should I replace it with a SB-66C? (Id move parts off the 575 onto the SB66C, and maybe also get a 160mm 36 fork for it)

Or Should I keep the 575 and build up a second bike? (Id want a pedal-able big bike; something like an Intense Uzzi, Pivot Firebird, etc with a 180mm fork)

I think what would help answer my question is: Does the SB66 pedal as efficiently as the ASR5 (which I used to have) and descend as well as the 575?

If so, that improvement in pedaling efficiency could justify the $3k frame price for me, giving me one very well rounded bike.

But if not, my money seems better spent building up a 7-7.5 inch bike that I can still ride to the top and could also be used for lift access.

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Dec 2011
    i'm no expert on this since I'm just starting out in the sport. However, if for some reason you decide to replace the 575 and decide to sell the frame, let me know. I just bought a 575 but my buddies are itching for a Yeti now that someone has one in the group. They are pondering a yeti frame and swapping components over...lol
    2011 Yeti 575 Enduro - stock (for now)

mtbr member
    Keep the 575 and wait for the Switch SB-6/7-8 bike.

I've owned an Asr-7 and now ride a 66. Demo'd a575 only.
    I'd hit it, but I bruise like a peach.

Mr. Knowitall
    Went from 575 to SB66, and I can tell you that the bike is firmer uphill than the 575, and more controlled in the steep stuff. It handles differently - of the good sort.

jddist
    May 2008