mtbr member
    May 2004

Specific 575 Questions

So,
    i'm riding a 5 Spot now and thinking of going with either an RFX, or, I have a credit at a local shop that is Yeti dealer. I wouldn't have to get a new fork if I went w/the 575.

Anyway, I have read the good reviews and those of word of mouth of good riders, and ride with a guy who has one, and rips on it.

My question, and I've brought this up before but not on this forum, is what's up with that Knuckle? I don't no of anyone ever having any problems with it. I'm super picky with my bikes, I admit it, and it just looks (looks is perception) that the material is so thin thin thin in that area? I was wondering if anybody has any tech info on why they did that, what it does, and the strength in that area? I've never seen such a thin are before on a bikes' top tube.

I know one thing it allow for the angled top tube and good standover, but why not more material there? I'm no engineer so just posing the question.

thanks much
    Sound of Tires on Dirt - Sole Music; shared with friends - Soul Music.

Nightriding rules SuperModerator
    I know it looks thin, but it is quite strong. Of course the 575 is not as burly as an RFX, but for trail duties it performs well. Some people have complained a bit about flex in the rear end, but I have had no issue with it so far.

I hope this helps a bit

PS: Here's a pic of that area for a closer look

2007 Fox RP23

mtbr member
    May 2004
    hey thanks. Looks like you're into some heavy programming and engineerng by the looks of your working library! anyway, if you're around, could you post a pic of it a bit higher up, so can see the interface w/ the top tube?

thanks!

Hi!!!
    Daryl --- if you are ever wanting to take my bike out for a spin (it's a medium), just holler. It's not the most bling bling 575 out there...I could only afford the Enduro kit. But at least it'll give you a decent idea of what it's like.

Nick

EDIT