wanderer

SB66C - bashguard?

I recently picked up an SB66c, and from my initial rides so far I can tell we're going to have a lot of fun together. The only thing is: I had heard about the low bottom bracket and didn't think much of it, but have already had to deal with some bashing of the large chainring when clearing rocks.

I've never used a bashguard before, but thinking of it now. Is there a good solution to protect the large chainring without removing it? I can adjust my style somewhat to just lift more, but can see there will be times when charging through boulder gardens might end up being somewhat frustrating.

I'm not super apposed to just removing the large ring, but there would be times I'd miss it when riding out to the trails.
    Fueled entirely by plants. And beer.

mtbr member
    I've got one of these on my 2x10 setup

Race Face

mtbr member
    Dec 2013
    There is an ISCG adapter available at jensonusa that replaces a spacer between your bottom bracket and your crankset. It allows you to use a taco type guard by MRP. I'm still waiting for my adapter as they were backordered and expect to ship on 1-29-14 I've received the guard and it looks substantial. I need the large chainring for riding on the road to get to the trails.

Check out these pictures. https://www.google.com/search?q=iscg...66%3B400%3B300

Stupid is, as stupid does
    I just went to 2 x 10. I have a 6 mile ride to my trail. I miss my large ring a little. But I will admit that I am enjoying the benefits more of the 2 x 10 drivetrain quite a bit. That is something that I never thought I would say. It's an equitable trade and I do not think that I will change back to a triple.
    2012 Ibis Mojo HD (153mm 650B)
    Yeti SB95 Carbon
    1993 Brodie Expresso
    RIP 1997 Santa Cruz Heckler.In 2010 the frame cracked

AKA shitbird