Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

rp23 question on '11 575

4K views 16 replies 9 participants last post by  eatdrinkride 
#1 ·
I posted a question about this in the shocks/suspension thread but I was curious after reading a response if this is more a Yeti-specific or FOX-in-general thing. So my bike came with the rp23 and I followed the chart from yeti to set my shock at 185psi. I couldn't see a difference between pro-pedal or open and have slowly increased the pressure, now up to 205psi. Whether on pro-pedal or not the whole travel-length of the shock is used, and it feels the same on either setting. Someone suggested the tune of the shock wasn't right. I'm new to riding so I was curious if there are other 575 owners out there with the rp23 who have the same findings. If so, any ideas on how to adjust/fix this? Thanks.

#2 ·
From what you wrote, I'm assuming you weigh around 160lbs, right? That's the weight that I am.

I also have a '11 575 but with a RP23 with adaptive logic and kashima coating. With my pressure set at 185psi, there is quite a noticeable difference between with the shock stiffness when the dial is set at 0 compared to the dial being set to 3. Even without sitting on the bike and just putting body weight on the seat to compress the rear shock.

I would suggest setting the shock pressure back to the Yeti suggested amount for your weight, and check shock stiffness between 0 and 3. If no difference, perhaps call up the place where you bought the bike or visit your local bike shop. Remember, the recommended sag is 25%, check that too.

#3 ·