mtbr member
    Oct 2006

Possible ASR5C purchase.

I have a chance to purchase a very low time almost brand new ASR5C I really don't know much about these bikes and was wondering what I should be looking for such as frame issues, wearing at certain points that could lead to possible future failure etc.
    I've always rode aluminum frames so this carbon thing sort of scares me a bit.
    Fortes fortuna adiuvat

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Avoid it. Horrible company see the other thread

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Sep 2006
    I have been jonesing for one for about 3 years now, and about a month ago got a great deal on a used frameset. Look for cracks in the rear triangle near where the chainstays join into the lower suspension pivots. That's about the only area that would be suspect as far as I know.

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by shoal View Post

^^^ seriously?

OP: I agree with BlownCivic, check the rear triangle well for an abuse or other obvious red flags. I know a few people on ASR5 carbons, they are great bikes, super light, the build weight on the carbon model can easily go under 24-25lb. A lot of people used to XC race on these before the really good 29er hard tails came out.

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    I have an AL asr5. Sick bike. Have owned the following before the 5 and wouldn't trade my 5 for the world: el Guapo (great bike), Chumba XCL, blur 4x, Motolite, nomad (great bike but too much travel for me), el Kaboing, and others.

The 5 is perfect for those who don't need a 6 inch AM bike and don't want a 4 inch race bike.

mtbr member
    Oct 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by shoal View Post

Thanks Guys I'll try and check out the bike as close as I can and Shoal thanks for that informative post. Been riding an 06 575 with no issues at all bike is still going strong only a bit on the heavy side.
    Fortes fortuna adiuvat

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Delta_kilo View Post