MTBR Demi-God

Planning to Buy 2010 ASR 5 Alloy Frame

Hi all,

I have been sporting a basic Trek 4900 hardtail since 2006. I have upgraded parts as they have broken, and now its only the frame that's stock.

I am itching to get into a full suspension bike, but buying a full Yeti bike is outside of my budget. I found a ASR 5 Alloy frame on sale for $1246 bucks... and I am thinking of pulling the trigger on it.

However, a quick search reveals that the ASR 5 had major issues with the rear triangle cracking- does that sound right to you guys? Maybe it is an issue for the carbon versions, but I'm going for the alloy frame.

Here are some of the components that I will be transferring over from my old bike:
    Drivetrain: Shimano XT 770 derailleur mated to Shimano XTR 970 shifters (9 speed)
    Crankset: Shimano LX 585 (Cannot wait for this to break so that I can upgrade)
    Brakes: Hope M4 front, X2 in the rear
    Wheels: WTB Frequency i23 laced to Hope Pro 2 QR hubs (26")
    Fork: RockShox Reba RLT 120mm (1 1/8 straight tube)

My concern is that the fork is a straight tube, but the Yeti frame has tapered head tube. Any ideas of how to make that work?

Please let me know if I need to consider anything more to swap out my old, tired frame for this new one. Thanks!
    "Winners never quit. Quitters never win. But those who never win and never quit are idiots."

mtbr member
    Jul 2006
    The alloy ASR-5 has an alloy front triangle and carbon rear. Carbon rear required since a pivot point was eliminated and the carbon stays flex instead. Lots of Bikes out there and not that many reported issues; mainly with the first generation as far as I can tell. I have the Alloy and ride in very rocky places where I wish I had a full alloy frame, but so far so good.