D93
    banned
    Oct 2011

My 575 Medium feels a bit small.

Following the size chart I went with a Medium 575 with 70mm no rise stem. I'm 5-9, long torso. Feels like I'm always over the bars a bit when standing on the pedals. Being a new rider I'm still learning how things feel when they are right but I have to have my butt way back when descending steep rocky switchbacks to feel comfortable, no time to get lazy and get upright on the pedals, even when it mellows out a bit.

I'm planning on getting a SB-66C when they start shipping them, but I think the chance of me finding both a medium and large SB-66 to demo are pretty slim. Am I between a medium and large? If I can find a large SB-66 to demo what would it feel like if it was too long? Is a medium SB-66 longer than a medium 575?

Thanks

mtbr member
    Jun 2005
    throw on a 90mm stem and see how that is. to me stem length can make a huge difference.

I;m 6 ft even and ride a size large ASR5 with 80mm stem. feels perfect

Big Hittin'
    its alot about the way you ride too. i like my bikes a bit smaller.

im 5'9 and ride a medium 575.

BTW, the SB66 runs big. i demo'd a M and it was perfect. id go with a medium if i was you...
    29er's are Goofy

D93
    banned
    Oct 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by dragbike View Post
    throw on a 90mm stem and see how that is. to me stem length can make a huge difference.

I;m 6 ft even and ride a size large ASR5 with 80mm stem. feels perfect
    A 90mm came with it but it kept me out over the bars a bit and was a bit of a reach when seated. The 70 feels really good but I think I could have gone with a 50.

Thinking more about it I think my problem is getting a bit stiff legged and out of the attack position.

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    Hi, I'm 6ft and ride a medium 575 with a 50mm stem, feels perfect (but then I come from bmx).