mtbr member
    Mar 2004

Dumb question: should I lube my new seatpost before inserting it into my.....

....Yeti 575? I have a steel Bontrager which I lube the seatpost from time to time, but does an aluminum bike like the 575 need the same stuff?

Signed,

Not The Most Mechanically Inclined Rider

mtbr member
    I'm not a mechanic, but I'm pretty sure you do. I've heard that you shouldn't in a carbon fiber bike or with a carbon fiber seatpost.

mtbr member
    Yes, unless it is carbon and the bike is carbon.

If both are ti then you need to use ti prep or anti-seeze

..of the masses..
    what do you lube it with?

mtbr member
    KY

Oni
    Master Of Fooliganism

Grease!

Quote Originally Posted by hagar
    Take your pick, most shops have a variety to choose from.

Oni likes Rock & Roll Grease

mtbr member
    here is an easy rule to remember: any time you have metal touching metal you need to lube it.

not lubing is how seatposts get stuck, and you have to revert to really ugly means to get them out.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by hagar

Whatever grease you have in the garage will work. All you are trying to do is eliminate potiental for noise and ensure the parts do not stick together.

Who is John Galt?
    Seems to me the problem is getting it to stay put, not sticking! I'd be afraid of lubing a seat post.
    What, me hurry?

EDR
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Jim Mac
    Seems to me the problem is getting it to stay put, not sticking! I'd be afraid of lubing a seat post.

You would think so but.....

Grease is needed when two dissimilar metals are in contact with each other. Over time the unlike properties of the metals may cause 'molecular migration'...which simply means 'corrosion' (sort of). Once this happens the metals kinda 'bond' together and getting them apart is a minor nightmare.

Do yourself a favor and use some grease, any kind you have in your garage, like the other poster said.