Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
    mnoutain bkie rdier

Your first race: Where, When, Age, Bike, Finish?

I went for a long solo ride today. I had lots of time to think. I started thinking back to how "green" I was when it all began for me....racing that is... I have lots of great memories from different venues... It all has to start somewhere at sometime right?

Where: Vista, CA (Team Manna Event)

When: 1992

Bike: Full rigid (...wasn't "cool" back then. It was only option.) chro-mo Fisher Hoo-Koo-E-Koo...light blue..bio pace cranks

Finish: Yep..I won..beginner class. I have been racing on and off for over 20 years now....yet I have never won another race....argh!!

NOTE: I have no pics...but pics of your first race would be great to see. Especially if there is neon invlolved..
    Last edited by rydbyk; 07-15-2013 at 08:34 PM.

mtbr member
    My first race was 2008. I started riding about the same vintage as the OP but didn't ever get around to racing.

Where: Barking spider outside Boise.
    When: 2008
    Bike: Ventana el fuego
    Finish: yes. second place. Probably could have pulled for first but confused the finish line. Bumped to sport class for next race. My avitar is a race photo from first season.
    Oh sh!+ just force upgraded to cat1. Now what?
    Best thing about an ultra marathon? I just get to ride my bike for X hours!

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    1986, Houston, TX "Swamp Race (or something like that) sponsored by WestEnd Bikes (assume shop). I believe I came in second, don't really recall. I was 20 or 21 at the time. Will Black, who went on to a pro MTB and Cyclocross career was the winner.

mtbr member
    Jul 2004

mine...

cannot remember the year, late eighties/early nineties

Crested Butte in the CORPS days, circuit race on Saturday, XC on Sunday

Bike: Kona HOT steel HT

Beginner class, finished about mid pack in a field of 100+, I was blown up right from the start, and barely hanging in...