mtbr member

You long time riders, are you still improving?

I started riding in late 1998 and have been pretty non stop since then. Started at 195 pounds and pretty slow. Lost a lot of weight first year (20 pounds) and have had slow weight loss to my current 160. As far as power, I remember that when I first moved to my neighborhood, I had to walk a steep hill on the way to my house, while using my MTB. Now I can big ring it on my RB.

1998 I was 31, and now I'm 46. Started racing in 2003 and then plateaued in my early 40's; and then a coach got me to ride more, and it seems that I've improved every year since turning up the volume, earning a Cat 3 upgrade on the road and Cat 1 on the MTB (pack fodder in both though). Power meter numbers also shows improvements since age 40 (just slight though, but it seems to make a difference).

So I've had 15 yrs of performance improvement, which seems unusual. Combo of weight loss, power improvement, and learning how to train (which came late). Has anyone else had this long of a streak? Or did some of you hit the typical 10 yr wall?
    Head Coach, Ben Lomond HS MTB Team
    www.utahmtb.org
    Cycling Team and local Club:
    http://www.roostersbikersedge.com/

LMN
    mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    Good question.

I have been riding and racing since 93, I am still making improvements. My fitness is definitely better then it has ever been. I don't train as hard as I use too but I ride a lot more consistently. I still feel that I could be a lot quicker; weight loss, a bit more volume, more intensity would make me quicker.

Technically I am not really improving any more. I am smoother and make less mistakes but I definitely don't take the same risks. The funny thing is I am quite happy to not take the same risks, crashing sucks.
    "The best pace is suicide pace, and today is a good day to die." Steve Prefontaine

It's the axle