mtbr member
    Sep 2009

Weight gain this season????

I worked all winter to drop some weight. I went from 180 last fall to 168 as of April 1st. I started training more when it got warmer out which was the end of march. I'm up to 10-12 hours a week. For some reason, i went up to 172, then it was 175ish. This morning.... 182. No change in diet. Just more training and I even dropped most of the weight training... Besides core. I don't feel or look any different, but this can't be all muscle. Anyone with more experience then me have a rational explanation for this.

lgh
    mtbr member
    Jan 2007
    1. You are actually eating more or different than during the winter (easy for some stuff to slip into your diet if you are not dilligent)

and/or

2. You are exercising in a different way than during the winter.

Larry

mtbr member
    Sep 2009
    1) i dont think thats it. if I did eat more food, its all "healthy" food. Oatmeal, salads, organic meats. Stuff like that. On a rare occasion, maybe pizza or a burger. But i did that in the winter
    2)Went from 6-7 hours in the winter with weights and trainer days alternating. Now its all riding with some core work. How could I gain weight from adding 4-5 more hours a week. If I do eat more, I should burn it off. Its just starting to frustrate me. How much more am I going to gain. Ill be racing the clydesdales by the end of the year...Ha ha

XC racer
    May 2005
    Proper hydration? I started dieting, more like lifestyle changes last September. I am now down from 182 to hovering around 153-155. It is very hot and humid here, and I have found that the more water I drink during the day, not just when training, the more stable my weight stays. It's almost as if when I don't drink enough, my body hoards what is has and my weight rises a bit.