mtbr member

Two Recovery Days Needed After Race?

I'm curious as to what the norm is for recovery time after a hard 2 hr mountain bike race. I raced on Sunday, took Monday off, and was hoping I would be fresh enough to do some threshold intervals on Tuesday, but as soon as I started riding I realized I was still smoked from the race - couldn't get my HR up, low power for RPE, all the typical signs of not being fresh. I have a pretty good base, and have had no problem doing back to back group ride hammer-fest days and interval days this season, so I was a bit surprised to be as useless on the bike as I was yesterday.

Is it typical to take two days to recover from a mtb race? Are any of you are able to do intervals on the second day after a race?
    Trek/Gary Fisher Superfly
    Giant Anthem
    Trek Fuel Ex 8
    Lemond Buenos Aires
    Cervelo R3
    www.fasterthansome.blogspot.com

Fat-tired Roadie
    I'm sometimes still tired the second day after a race, especially now that I'm trying to do the whole thing at a higher level of effort. I think it also happens if it's been too long since I've had a proper break. When I first started going to races, it took me longer than that to recover.

If I didn't have an extra-long school day on Mondays this quarter, I'd be trying to get on my bike and go for a mellow ride that afternoon - just start slow, and play it by ear. If I don't do that, I think it takes even longer for me to recover. Then, depending on how that ride felt and how I'm feeling in general, I might do something more challenging on Tuesday or I might just take the day off.

How long was your ride on Tuesday? I often find that if I'm feeling a bit tired or out of sorts in general and I start slow, I end up warming up to the point that I can ride at a pretty high level of intensity once I'm feeling comfortable on the bike.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by AndrwSwitch