mtbr member

Training with a smart trainer. Tell me what you do.

Hey all. Sold off one of my extra bikes and got an Elite Direto smart trainer. Just got it hooked up last night. I am new to the world of trainers and am curious what you all do for your training regimen.
    How many times per week and how often are you riding? Do you have any tips and tricks for using a trainer and how to convert the hard work on the trainer to actual riding?
    I occasionally do fat biking in the winter but probably only 1x 2x a week. Hoping this will help me come spring time a bit. Thanks in advance.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Training with a smart trainer. Tell me what you do.-20171108_205943-1-.jpg  

mtbr member
    Jan 2017
    Not really training specific but I've been finding some of the Crit racing on Zwift really good fun. Some of the GPS data based climbs available on the Tacx website are good too.

mtbr member
    Nov 2009
    Experiment with ERG mode (where you don't have to shift and the power varies based on what workout you selected--this means as long as you keep pedaling you do the workout so you can watch tv or whatever) and more interactive stuff like Zwift where you shift gears etc so its more like a real ride.

ERG high intensity intervals are great on the trainer IMO. Best use of the trainer for me. Very easy interface in Zwift to create an interval session--could be better but it's simple enough.

Get a fan. I lose at least 20% off FTP without a fan, it's insane. I think if you don't have a fan you can't train as hard and thus probably don't get as good a training benefit.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by litany View Post
    Get a fan. I lose at least 20% off FTP without a fan, it's insane. I think if you don't have a fan you can't train as hard and thus probably don't get as good a training benefit.
    This is great advice. Don't hop on it without a fan unless you're gonna put the trainer outside in the snow.

mtbr member