mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Training, or lack thereof......

I am new to the racing side of mountain biking. I have been riding for about a year. Last July I had a wreck that put me out of commission for about 6 months. Had 2 discs operated on in my back. I had the surgery 11/01/2012. Got back on the bike 01/01/2013 (Dr said go for it).
    I entered my first EVER race in a Cat 3 end of February beginning of March. I was out of shape BAD and DNF'd after 6.5 miles of up/down/washboards. I was having a pain in my leg that I used to have before surgery and got scared... Not to mention I had staples removed from a gall bladder surgery the day before the race. Yeah, Im crazy like that!!!
    ANYWAY, I won 4th place and yesterday 2ndplace (I chalk this up to dumb luck/ lack of participation). My problem is I feel like crap during the race, no energy, feel like I cant go, dont have the get up and go, I walk portions every race. I cant climb a hill worth you know what.
    I ride 12-18 miles per day on my mountain bike. I feel like I am in the worst shape ever. I thought riding so much would keep my weight down but Ive gained 6 pounds?????? I just feel like I am not doing something right here! Maybe need to do things differently? No hills here really to practice on. HELP!!!!
    It seems like everyone is in better shape than me, goes faster, has more stamina, etc.... What gives? I (who doesnt) want to be the fastest, best in shape I can be).....

mtbr member
    I just started racing and really trying to train for racing last year, so I can just give you advice for what has helped me improve so far. Obviously without knowing what you eat, when, etc it's hard to know why you've gained 6lbs but as far as preparing for races, this is what I would say.