Thread: ToM strategy

mtbr member
    Jul 2009

ToM strategy

I have noticed that there are a few on this forum who race the Test. This is my first year doing it, I'm torn between 2 conflicting strategies and could use your advice. First let me say that climbing is my strength and I tend to lose time on descents (more so on the easy descents as I am a fairly proficient technical rider but not super comfortable with high speeds). I'm not super powerful and rely more on my endurance and technical skills than strength.

When I pre-rode a couple weeks ago I started conservatively and finished strong (though tired). This is my usual strategy and I would assume that I could use the 9 mile climb to pass people and leave them behind for the rest of the way.

Countless people have told me, however, that it's imperative to get a good fast start to avoid the backlog getting into Jack's trail. Waiting for all those people can kill your time. I pre-rode the first 30k again on saturday, cranking it out as hard as I could. It felt ok but I'm pretty sure I wouldn't have been able to keep it up (or maybe keep going at all) to the end.

Should I start strong and then just try to hang on til the end or save my energy and make my move later?

mtbr member
    May 2007
    What is ToM anyway?

I would do as much as I could to get to the bottle necks as early as possible.
    Red line if required!
    Addicted to the dirt......with no hope for recovery.

mtbr member
    May 2008
    How long is the race and what are your goals?

mtbr member
    Jul 2009
    ToM is the Test of Metal. It's a huge race here in BC. 67k point to point. 1000 racers, mass start. elite wc riders all the way down to ambitious locals. Last year's winners were Max Plaxton and Catharine Pendrel.