mtbr member
    Jan 2011

Tendinitis and training- How long should I rest?

Hey guys looking for some opinions here. I've been riding for about 3 years now and I'm looking to start training hard to do some XC racing next year.(Purely for enjoyment, I'm slow) I've ridden singlespeed for about 2 years now and recently switched to gears as the gears are much easier on my knees and tendons. I'm having some pain on the inside of my right knee and some tendon pain from running my seat too high during the Mohican 100 last June. I'm just wondering how long I should stay off the bike before I jump into training for next season? The tendinitis seems to be slowly improving while the knee pain has been bugging me pretty bad when I'm standing at work all day. Any experience with this?

mtbr member
    Rest?

mtbr member
    Jan 2011
    I guess that's my question. How long should I plan to rest? Just feel it out as I go or plan a month or two off? I have some rehab exercises for the knee but want to hold off on them as not to aggravate the tendinitis.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    I had bad knee tendinitis about 5ys ago from playing tennis. I got some great advise from my ortho doc who happened to be the former team doc for the NE Pats but I won't hold that against him. He said it was very important to build strong muscles around the joint to keep it stabilized, so said I,should try to train them as hard as you can without inflaming things further. It was a bit of trial and error but definitely worked. Now that I ride and no longer play tennis helps also!

mtbr member
    Jun 2012

I would ease back into it

Start with whatever a minimal amount is for you. give it 24hrs and increase a lil at a time,

Sounds like you are a serious rider and hardest thing will be "holding yourself back"

I agree with strengthening surrounding area from my own weak knees - I do these before lifting with legs after warm-up

This video is kind of old school but these TKE exercises work.