Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Dec 2012

Tell me why you devote all of your free time and a huge amount of money to racing.

This isn't a question that is just coming out of the blue. I have been racing for three years now. I've won some races. Now I'm a top half finisher in Cat 1. But I've lost it. The drive that had me dreaming about winning at any cost is gone and now I get home from work and just stare at my bike for a couple of minutes just willing myself to get changed and out on the bike but I can't. I'm not depressed, at least not seriously. I still enjoy hanging out with buddies and doing other stuff. But the hunger in me that had me make big jumps in short amounts of time is gone. I put a lot of pressure on myself this winter to earn a cat 2 road upgrade and get onto an elite team. But, I had a tough spring that had me off the bike for months at a time. I feel like the training that I have to do to be at the level I want to be at is insurmountable at this point.

So that's were ya'll come in. Tell my you love racing and what it means to be so I can be inspired to care about something more than just winning, cuz It looks like I am not going to be doing any of that this year. I need some inspiration.

mtbr member
    Whilst I certainly don’t put all my time and effort into racing or riding these days I do know the feeling! A several years ago I spent the best part of a few seasons trying to be fast; I had a few good results mostly top five finishes in “open” races (our enduro’s here didn't have rider classes at the time) but eventually I just stopped. I felt burnt out and was constantly hampered with colds and server lack of motivation. Whilst I never fully regained the motivation I once had, I spent time focusing on having fun and that’s it!!!