mtbr member
    Sep 2009

Suspension setup ?'s

I have been racing for 2 years, and Im still unsure of how to setup the fork and rear shock. Do I go by sag or put more air in than usual. Fork setup is confusing with psi in the fork ,rebound,low speed compression etc.... I also cant decide if I should run with the pro pedal on or off. Which is more beneficial, full open or pro pedal??? Any tips would help.

mtbr member
    I believe the best way to setup suspension is with measured sag. Look up the manuals for your suspension shocks and see what they recommend. I remember my old fox fork had recommended sag numbers for riding type (XC, plush, etc.). Putting a zip tie around the fork leg really helps get the measurements correct.

Rear shock sag is really a function of the frame though, so you will have to look at recommendations from the bike manual. I really like the old GT I-drive that came with a plastic caliper to measure sag per the shock mounts. That was nice. You just sat on the bike, and see if the caliper aligned with the mounts. You added or subtracted air till it aligned.

As far as rebound and compression, I like to go to the middle of the range as a starting point, and move up or down from there. The middle seems to work well most times.

My new bike came with a lefty fork. Rode it for a few months and it was ramming my hands pretty bad. Then a friend showed me the rebound adjustment. Turns out i had it at one end of the range. We set it to the middle and now it rides like a dream. I've never downhilled faster in my life.

As far as propedal, that seems to be a function of the bike. I have a Giant Anthem and the difference between pro-pedal and having it off is minimal. So it's not worth reaching down to turn it on, IMO. The only time I can tell a difference is on pavement.
    Head Coach, Ben Lomond HS MTB Team
    www.utahmtb.org
    Cycling Team and local Club:
    http://www.roostersbikersedge.com/

mtbr member
    Sep 2009