mtbr member
    Jan 2008

Structured Training or Not?

Hi all,

I am 15 weeks away from the first race of my XC season. I have dabbled in a few races and enjoyed them quite a bit so now I'd like to do as well as I can for the upcoming ones. I am just starting out racing so I'm going to be in a Novice category. I have started preparing with some base training with light to moderate intervals and moderate paced rides. All that has been going well but interrupted from time to time. My question though is what should be my approach?

I am not obese or anything, but I could lose some lbs. (15 or so). I have also thought of following a structured periodized plan, and while ultimately I think that's the best approach I'm not sure if it's the best use of my time.

So my question, keeping in mind that I'm 15 weeks from starting the season - I have essentially 3 ways of going about things.

1.) Follow a structured plan of base training with a build block afterwards
    2.) Focus on just losing the pounds and ride my bike(s) as much as I can, regardless of type of ride or intensity. Just pure seat time.
    3.) Focus on losing the weight and ride as much as I can, but for a few rides during the week throw in a couple of structured workouts

I'm at a stage where I'm just starting out, so a part of me thinks that just trimming down and riding my bike as much as possible is the best solution, then I can worry about more specific training later like for the following season.

mtbr member
    Feb 2013