mtbr member
    Nov 2009

Strong Leg/Weak Leg

I've been racing road and 'cross for several years now and am currently cat.2. My problem is that with increased strength and fitness my right leg has developed considerably more than the left one. So much so that it is obvious to look at. My left leg is also longer than the right, I've been told by the guy who did my last bike fit that this has something to do with it.

Sooo, whats the answer? Platforms to even things out? Is it that simple? I've tried to consciously work my left leg more when out riding but it is something difficult to gauge. Any tips would be great, thanks.

On a side note, I had a nasty spill in Portland last week that required 8 stitches below my right knee, forcing me to take a welcome break. I have been considering using this opportunity to strengthen my left leg only by riding an indoor trainer with it solely for perhaps 30-45 min every/other day. Is this recommended?

mtbr member
    That is a really long single leg ride. It is a good idea to do single leg riding to prevent your situation. However, as drastic as you describe the difference, especially with a significant difference in leg length, I would want to know why. A good sports medicine Dr or chiropractor or PT (can you get one with all three combined?) can look for other problems.

I bet you will have troubles if you try to ride that long one leg. You would probably do really well to train alternating one leg riding very frequently though.
    Oh sh!+ just force upgraded to cat1. Now what?
    Best thing about an ultra marathon? I just get to ride my bike for X hours!

mtbr member
    Maybe we should get together and swap. It's my Left leg that's stronger!

Definitely do all you can to find out the cause of the length discrepancy.
    Last edited by goneskiian; 12-09-2009 at 11:42 PM.

mtbr member
    Sep 2009