mtbr member

Sorry, another dreaded tire psi question

I have already read all the threads I could on the subject so I appoligize for this as I am still relatively new to mountain biking and looking for closure. Here are the specifics. Me - 142 lbs, maybe 145 with clothes and gear. The bike, new Blur XC Medium, 26 lbs. with 1.95 John Tomac Nevegals Kendas Stick E tires and ultralight tubes pumped to 30-31 psi. Sag is set to Santa Cruz recommendations. The situation - I was recently in a race, I flatted the rear tire after a fast long decent on a fire road. Everyone I showed the tube too thought it was a pinch flat although it did not look like a classic snake bite. The tube had a 1 cm slit around where the rim would line up but nothing on the other side.

From everything I've been reading in these forums, it seems that I should've been ok at 30 psi. I'm sure all of you have come across these treads where guys that weight 160, 180, 210, are running air pressures such as 28, 30 32, 35 etc.etc...

I originally started with a 40 psi when I got my new bike, and gradually reduced the tire pressure as I was l "learning" the bike and trying to set it up. The primary reason I gradually reduced the psi was because the bike felt "bouncy" when I was riding fast over trails. Secondary was that I was also trying to gain some more grip.

I emailed Santa Cruz about my rear pinch flat and the details and the tech said that I should go to 45 psi and adjust the rebound. I guess that makes sense but I did not even think about it since I still learning about this mountian biking stuff. I feel like 45 psi is to much still and when I replied with that question the tech said that is what he uses. So now months later I'm back to square 1.