mtbr member
    Jul 2009

Returning after injury--worth the risk?

I suppose I know that it's a personal decision, but I am interested to know how many have come back to mountain biking after a serious injury. Last November I decided to add on a final race to my season because I had a blast racing all summer (my first season racing MTB). Things were going well after a slow start and I was passing people as I made my way toward the lead group. Out of nowhere I hit some sand at an odd angle on a sweeping downhill curve and went down harder than I ever had. I dislocated my shoulder, tearing my labrum and RTC in the process.

I went through months of PT and luckily avoided surgery. However, I did experience enough pain and interruption in my daily life to make me rethink ever getting on the MTB again. Now, I have been riding since I was 4 years old and I'm 39 now, so I've had my share of stitches, concussions, etc. This was an entirely different level of injury. Nine months later I am more or less back to normal as far as my daily activities go, but I am not as I was before the accident. I still cannot sleep on my right (dominant) arm because of the discomfort. I have been riding my road bike quite a bit and have no problems doing so. As much as I like road riding, I really miss the trails as well as the rush of racing. I also recently moved and have a wealth of amazing riding right near my house.

So, I'm considering giving it another go. I no longer have a MTB, so I was going to rent one locally and take a few rides. I don't think I will ever race again as the pressure to push the limits is too great. I would like to enjoy the trails and have an alternative to the road riding however. My fear is that I'll crash again and need surgery, thus losing another year of my life to injury and perhaps lose more function in my day to day life. Anyone have any thoughts? Been in a similar situation?

mtbr member
    Jun 2008