mtbr member

Recovery Ride? Whats the thinking?

There are a lot of guys on my racing team who post on their media that they have taken a "recovery ride". This is almost always after a race day or a hard training day.

Im pretty new to training for my racing season, this being the first full off season of training. So far I have gone with the 'never ride 2 days in a row' philosophy of training. If I have pushed my legs hard on any given day, I do not like the idea of doing anything to stress them at all for at least 24 to 36 hours.

So what is the thinking behind the "recovery ride"??
    People ask me all the time "who beat you up"? I tell them "a tree". They just look at me funny....

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Visiting St george/Hurricane? Stay at my vacation rental. Discounts for MTB's

http://www.vrbo.com/392904

PM me

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Pedalfaraway View Post
    Your an ahole.

Does anyone have any constructive feedback? I value the (relevant) opinions of the riders on MTBR, thats why im here asking...
    People ask me all the time "who beat you up"? I tell them "a tree". They just look at me funny....

mtbr member
    Feb 2013
    An easy ride the day before or after a hard ride or race can help your legs stay loose. I like the idea of 'active recovery' a lot more than passive rest. I did some physical therapy last fall, and we fixed a couple of things through exercise that weren't getting better with rest.
    I'm no expert (other than my categ.), but recovery is about allowing your muscles to properly rebuild, and moving them somewhat vigorously can be a good thing during 'recovery'. There's stuff in there that has to move out, as well as move in, think of the recovery ride as having a similar effect to a massage.