mtbr member

Recommendations for smart trainer please

I'm preparing for winter already so I can start looking for good deals on a used smart trainer. My purchasing habbits usually run a split personality between "bang for the buck" and "just get the best".

I know I want a direct drive that will work with a through axle, and I want to use it with swift (although I've never tried swift, or had a trainer before other than a terrible stationary bike). I don't know if all smart trainers have power meters, but that's also on my list.

I don't really want to spend $1000, but I could swing it of the consensus is that I'll wish I had.

I'm trying to find one used to lower cost some. Any reason that's a bad idea, or maybe a "no problem, but check the wear on xxxxxxx", or don't get one with more than xxxxxxx miles or years on it.

The bike I'll be hooking up is my 2015 stumpjumper fsr with 1x11. I've been really considering upgrading my bike to a more xc oriented bike since that's the racing I do, so I don't know if that matters, but that might be an epic or canondale scalple, or something in that category.

Thanks all!

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Last year several people I know got Tacx Flux smart trainers. They're direct drive but a lot cheaper than the Tacx Neo and also support thru axles frames.

https://www.dcrainmaker.com/2016/12/...th-review.html

https://support.tacx.com/hc/en-us/ar...-on-my-trainer

Initially they were really impressed with them for using with Zwift, the actual trainer itself is good, but they also had reliability issues and went through several replacements. That was last winter so that might all be fixed by now.

If you get a good one I'd say that's a decent model to get, reliability being the potential concern.

mtbr member
    Awesome info.. thanks!

mtbr member
    Jul 2015