mtbr member
    Jun 2011

Race on my GT Sensor, or spend extra for new HT?

I'm new to xc racing (never raced before). I raced cross country and track for 4 years in college, so I am in decent aerobic shape (ran 70-80 miles per week for 4 years). Last spring I had a knee injury which will prevent me from running, so I'd like to start racing xc bikes.

Right now I have a GT Sensor 3.0, which I'm extremely happy with. I've ridden Porcupine Rim, Amasa Back, Slickrock etc. and it has done great. (I live in Moab..)

What are your thoughts on racing this bike? It's a small so is probably about 30 lbs. I was considering spending about $600-800 for a basic hardtail to use as a trainer/racer.. Planning on riding every day in the winter here to get ready for spring racing. I have time to ride 1-2 hours after work M-F, and 6 hours+ on Sat/Sun. I was thinking about putting that money into my Sensor... but I use it pretty much as an all-mountain bike here. So I don't now if that is a good idea.

I'm used to running, where your equipment doesn't matter at all. Seems like having the right bike could make a big difference. Obviously you can race on anything, but I'm willing to spend a little money to set myself up a little, if necessary. Thanks.

It's about showing up.
    Your competitve CC experience will be a great asset but racing XC is not like riding around just as CC racing is not like running around. With respect there is much to learn.

Race the GT until you get a feel for the event and see what people are riding. Tune it sweet and keep her sharp and you will be ahead of the game.

That said, if you just want to get a new bike, go nuts. It is just that it is not the most important thing right now.

Good luck.
    I don't rattle.

mnoutain bkie rdier

hmm

YOU: