Chris Bling

New question here. Powertap Mountain Bike hubs

Hey Everyone,

Just wanted to say hi and ask a quick question.

How many of you guys use Powertap hubs on your mountain bikes? I recently became a dealer for them and was wondering if many folks use them or are there other brands out there that are superior. I have some experience with their road hubs but none with the Mtn. hubs.

Thanks in advance!
    The obsession of wheels fused with the passion of cycling
    Affordable Custom Wheels

mnoutain bkie rdier
    PMs in mt biking are much less common than on the road. While it would be nice to have access to a power meter while mtb'ing, it is more of a luxury than 'necessity'.

Also, as you know, maintaining any sort of consistency while training with power while mountain biking is really challenging due to the short bursts of power needed to climb techy steep sections etc.

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    I have had my PT for nearly 4 years. Solid performer, hate riding without it.

Tracking and analysis of power data I consider not to be a "luxury".

People who are trying to hold a certain power etc on single track are doing it wrong. Maybe you can look at power on a long bit of fire road etc and pace from there but otherwise it true benefits are all in post training/racing analysis.

Because of the highly variable nature of mtb means that power recording is probably more essential than road cycling for example.

mnoutain bkie rdier
    Quote Originally Posted by TapewormWW View Post
    I have had my PT for nearly 4 years. Solid performer, hate riding without it.

Tracking and analysis of power data I consider not to be a "luxury".

People who are trying to hold a certain power etc on single track are doing it wrong. Maybe you can look at power on a long bit of fire road etc and pace from there but otherwise it true benefits are all in post training/racing analysis.