Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jan 2009

Power people Steady power HR Rise

Question: Should keep following the power number even though the heart rate rose steeply at the end of the endurance zone workout? It is better to hold to the power zone and ignore heart rate or back off the power to stay in heart rate zone?

I am new to power training although I have been training with heart rate for years. I am just recently finding how much my power would fall off at the end of a workout. Any experience with this would be welcome.

Power people Steady power HR Rise-power-graph.png

Power people Steady power HR Rise-heart-rate-graph.png
    Last edited by Drider85; 01-20-2014 at 12:13 PM.

mtbr member

Power people

This is one of the problems with using a heart rate monitor for pacing. Changes in the speed that your heart is beating at don't always track exactly with effort. A heart rate monitor measures how fast your heart is beating. It doesn't measure how hard you're working. There are many different factors that can affect how fast or slow your heart beats on any given day (heat, fatigue, illness, caffeine etc) .

http://running.competitor.com/2012/0...aining_47287/2

For the same power output your exercise heart rate can vary from day to day and also vary across the course of a training session, even when you're maintaining a constant power output.

Where you maintain a constant power output and perceived exertion throughout the session, but your heart rate continues to climb, you're most likely experiencing cardiac drift. Essentially your heart rate monitor is lying to you about how hard you're trying.

http://running.competitor.com/2012/0...aining_48317/1

As you have a power meter I'd follow that for pacing and stick to the target power zones that you're aiming for throughout the ride.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by WR304 View Post