That's gonna leave a mark

Painful move up to Sport

Well, after a few off and on seasons of racing Beginner here in SoCal, I finally decided to take the racing/training seriously and set a personal goal to move up to Sport by the end of this season. Iíve never placed above 8th in XC until this year. I surprised myself right at the beginning of the season with a 4th place finish.

Since the first race this year, Iíve won several 4th and 5th places, a few 3rdís, a 2nd and a 1st. My training is a little unconventional, though. Like many competitors, I train during the week on the road bike. On the weekends I ride on the dirt, but I only ride SS. Iíve only raced geared in my XC races because most SoCal races donít offer a Beginner SS class.

Two weekends ago, our 4-man team competed in the Chamberlin Ranch 24 Hour Race. I figured Iíd try one of the 15-mile laps on the SS and see how I felt. Turned out I didnít suffer as much as I thought I would. So I stuck with the SS for the whole event. My lap times were consistent and I can actually say I enjoyed myself a lot more than when Iíve ridden geared in a 24-hour race.

So yesterday I decided it was time to put up or shut up. I signed up for the Sport SS class at the Mt SAC Fat Tire Classic. Even though they offered a Beginner SS class, I figured I could kill two birds with one stone. ĎCept I was the bird getting hit with two stones. And just to make it interesting, I decided to race on a freshly built rig: an Independent Fabs Ti SS. Not quite her maiden voyage, but 7 miles clocked on the odometer wasnít exactly playing it smart.