mtbr member
    Sep 2009

Noob wanting to do some racin'

Quick History:

I have read almost all the threads in this forum including the stickies etc. I have some questions to take the next step in my hopes and aspirations. Thanks for the help in advance.

I am 6-1 200lbs give or take a few 35 years old. I have always had a strong upper build with weak legs. I started riding road bike two years ago weighing 240 and within 6 months was down to 183 through intense riding (group rides) and extreme diet. I work on the road during the summers and so without my wife cooking food and going out with friends I lost a ton of weight. I came back over winter and gained back to 210 or so. I was still slow and got dropped like a bad habit in the hills. Last year I got down to 192 doing some riding on my own and was still very poor in the hills.

This year I got a new Giant XTC 29er 2 and have loved every minute of it. I now would like to do some xc racing next year. I got hooked up with a local road racer who takes me out on rides a few times a week on my road bike. He taught me the greatness of hill repeats and intervals. In short I started training like a man and my riding shows it. I now relish hills and interval days. My legs have gotten cut and my quads now have shape to them. I got a Suunto T4c HRM and have been using it. I ride 5-7 hrs per week on average.
    I have quit all upper body exercises to try and lose some bulk. It has worked, but I still am quite a bit heavier than the first year. I now am quite a bit faster than the slow guys, but the skinny hill climbers make me look like I am standing still once a hill comes. In my clothes I am fit looking without a belly, but looking at all the charts it looks like I could stand to lose 30-40 lbs for my size.