mtbr member
    Jul 2007

New race steed opinions for my 13 year old Lance wannabe

So my son just turned 13, races velodrome and road and needs a new bike for MTB this spring. Going with a Chinese carbon frame, so my question is 26, 650b, or 29. He's 5'4 105 lbs and rides aggressively. He rode my 29er last season and wants something a little more tossable so I am thinking 650b. What is everyone's opinion. We race in Texas so it is rooty, rocky, with short climbs or sustained shallow angle climbing . . .

MattSavage
    650b all the way. Ive been racing one in SS for three years, its the way to go, especially for a lightweight junior that might not be able to quickly spin up a 29er wheel. Get the carbon tubeless rims from Lightweight-Bicycle to go with it!
    "I wrote a hit play! What have you ever done?!"

Have Ashtray, Will Travel....

VIP
    Jun 2006
    Surely it'd be better to buy a 26" since he's going to outgrow whatever you buy now? That is assuming similarly specced 26" bikes are cheaper than 650b/29" (that's how it is here anyway).

If you buy too large of a frame for him to "grow into" it'll just feel like crap - speaking from experience.

No Stranger to danger....
    Lance wanna be hey?

Lying, cheating, bullying and being a sociopath is a bit much for a 13 year old, First off id tell your boy to 'wanna be' somebody else..

But goodluck to your boy anyway....
    Dont ever let the truth get in the way of a funny story....

I'd rather be riding
    Let's not kill the kid's passion haha. I'd put him on 650b. Then next bike jump up to 29.

mtbr member
    Jul 2007