mtbr member
    Sep 2005

MTB Naional Calendar vs. NMBS, any thoughts?

I just read the rant Eddie Arnet put up at http://www.mbaction.com/detail.asp?id=2138. I'm not sure I agree with him at all. I'm not a race promoter, but it seems to me from a racers perspective that the best events should be rewarded with the most prestige and attendance. What makes a good event? A good mountain with a lot of fun courses for everyone who enters, good prizes and prize money, accurate timing and timely results. TV exposure would be nice for the sponsors, but it's not mandatory for a sweet race. I don't know what goes on in the secret meetings of USA Cycling, but I think their National Calendar seems like a step in the right direction. It pretty much opens it up to any promoter who wants to get in on the action by putting on a quality event with prize money for the racers. There hasn't been any news on this since they announced it 3 weeks ago, and I'll be interested to see how things will change for next season, hopefully for the better. Unless no promoters jump on board, in which case it will all just fly back in the face of the feds.

mtbr member
    Jun 2005
    last time i looked the national calendar had races pretty much only in california. You would think with the number of mountains elsewhere in the us they could have races all over the place. I mean maybe one race in cali, and then the other races in other states. It just seems crazy. Then again, i think they should actually have the pros race on technical XC courses, preferably a single lap for the whole race or two at most. AM i the only one that thinks its lame going round and round during a race. Pretty soon its gonna be like nascar.

mtbr member
    Dec 2005