mtbr member
    Apr 2010

Cool-blue Rhythm Middle of season slowing down

Hi there,
    This thing happens to me for the second time: last year it was the same and this year I notice that I ride slower than the beginning of the season. I race XCOs, marathons and one 24 hours solo (but I rested 6 hours during the night).
    In 2 weeks I have an important race: a marathon and I wonder if a whole week's rest would do me any good or things would go for the worse.
    SO, here's the plan: this weekend Saturday and Sunday 2-stage race and next week: Monday- 1 hour slow recovery pace, Tue, Wed, Thur and Fri - rest days; Saturday - 1 hour slow ride with some sprints. Sunday - big race.
    I supplement Vit. B complex for my anemia. Do I need more supplements or other vitamins to recover?
    I am 35 years old, I've been riding and racing for 5 years now, female.
    I would appreciate any other ideas for middle of season "reset". I want my power and freshness back

mtbr member
    Subscribed as my wife has the same conditions. Hoping for any insight as well.

mtbr member
    Hitting that second peak takes some planning. People talk about burning matches in a race, but I find that a person can also burn matches throughout a season; and by the end of some seasons, there are none left.

To mitigate this, I do a couple of pretty standard school-book things:
    -Take a week off mid season
    -Base train again after that break (actually, base training has now become my default solo riding mode)

Sure you'll be out of shape a bit after a mid summer break, but after month or two of building up, you may hit your best performance of the season.

I think the plan you have layed out seems the best at this point. Taking a week off now will only get you out of shape. There just isn't enough rebuild time for this upcoming event. It typically takes 2 weeks to get back where you were (after taking 1 week off).