Thread: Mental coaching

mtbr member
    Jun 2007

Mental coaching

Does anyone use a mental coach or sport psychologist, or do the coaches people generally use provide mental training themselves?

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I personally don't know any bike racer who uses a mental coach, but I hear the big time athletes do. Unless you are suffering in ways beyond what happens on the bike, you could probably get by with various techniques of positive thinking. If you feel it is a limited, hire a coach.

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    Thanks for responding. I'm actually a psychologist and when I was starting out was planning on focusing on sport psychology. I was able to get a handful of professional hockey players as clients with the connections I had, but making a living at it was difficult. I went another route and just left that behind. I've recently worked with a couple of people just pro-bono for biking, and it got me thinking about it again. I ran into a lot of stigma and reluctance for anyone to acknowledge they were working with a psychologist when I tried it before. Since it's ten years later, I think it is much more widely accepted now. I wasn't thinking about making a living at it, just something on the side that I found interesting. I wanted to see if there was a market for it at all before I put any amount of effort into it, but with the lack of replies, I'm guessing there isn't. I was thinking I'd just work with bikers since it's what I'm doing now and it interests me. I thouht if people were willing to pay for an actual coach, they might see value in it. Thanks.

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    People spend lots of money on coaches, I suspect your services could be bundled into a higher end coaching plan. I actually see a fair number of people who are really strong and work hard with the structured training but stink in races. I have to assume there is something going on that keeps them from reaching their potential.