Thread: Intervals?

XC Hack
    Dec 2011

Intervals?

I've looked all over and there seems to be a gob of varying durations, frequencies, and intensities for weekly interval routines. What are some simple guidelines that are working for you? Or are they that complicated?

I'm "pretty fit" (I know, subjective), age 52 and into my second year of racing 50-plus beginners class, I ride only 1-2x per week. Anyway, I did intervals the other day: 30 min warm up, 3x 3 minutes each at 80-90% of max HR with 3-5 minutes between dropping my HR to 60-65% and a 15 minute cool down. Was this in the ballpark?

mtbr member
    Feb 2013
    I'm no interval expert, but I wouldn't bother with complicated workouts unless you're riding 2x a week minimum. In my experience you're not going to get much gain riding once maybe twice a week. Do what you did above two or three times a week a few days apart and you'll see some gains, - I don't think you need to warm up that long.
    Beginner races are not long, so you don't need any endurance workouts, -if being a fast beginner is where you want to go. I was able to transfrom myself from very out of shape to 40-50s cat 2 podiums in a year and a half, riding just twice a week for the first year, I think I really started making gains when I went from 2 workouts a week to 3 or 4 back in December. My shortest rides are about 40min, longest are between 1.5 and 2 hours, with lots of short hard climbs (1 to 2 minute climbs). My workout rule is; no more than 3 days on the bike in a row, no more than 2 days off in a row.

Always Learning
    Quote Originally Posted by fongster View Post
    I've looked all over and there seems to be a gob of varying durations, frequencies, and intensities for weekly interval routines. What are some simple guidelines that are working for you? Or are they that complicated?