mtbr member

Increasing Training Hours for Next Season?

I tried searching for this, and I came up empty.

So, I am only beginning to think about training for next season as the 2011 season is winding down (~5 races left).

This year was my first season using a plan (Friel) and I chose 350 hours. I was doing well following the plan until about July. Then vacations, work, life, etc. began to interfere with my routine and I really began slacking. I think burn-out may have been part of this as well.

At this point, I will probably get to about 300 hours or so, maybe a bit less. Last year, as I said, my training was just riding, so I have no idea how many hours.

Friel says something like 10% increase in hours from season to season. At this point, I am not sure if I should got for another 350 with the plan on meeting the number, or increase to 400-450 hours with the assumption that things will arise, and I will fall short again.

By increasing to 450, I will get more time in during the pre-race season (winter/spring) and will have some "cushion" in the summer, when things again get busy.

Summary:
    1) 2011, planned on 350 hours, will achieve ~300
    2) 2010, increase to 450 hours, or try again to actually reach 350.

LMN
    mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    Increasing your hours allows the training stimuli to continue to grow. The increase should be based on what you did not what you planned to do.

I would keep it at 350 and actually achieve 350. 50 hours doesn't sound like much but if are riding 7 hours a week that it takes 7 weeks to achieve 50 hours. And that is going to have a significant change on your fitness and free time.

I also find that keeping your goal reasonable makes it easier to achieve it when time is tight. I know for myself if I do a bunch 15 hour weeks in the spring then it seems I will have some 4 or 5 hour weeks later in the year. If restain myself in the sping then I am more consistent throughout the year.