mtbr member

HR: road vs trail

So I'm a little new to the HRM, still exploring and examining the data, sorry if this is a newb question.

While road riding and while in a spin class, getting the HR up to Zone5 of max is very hard! It takes a big prolonged effort, the legs burn a lot, and the breathing is very heavy and hurts as well.
    However, while trail riding, its pretty easy to get to Z5. Several times I've given a little kick to top a short roller climb, I look down and am surprised to see I'm hitting Z5, but the legs aren't burning and my breathing is controllable. In fact, the HR data from my spin class and mtb ride are very similar (slightly higher and more Z5 for mtb though), but the spin class is complete pain and suffering while I feel like I could go harder on the mtb.

I guess one reason its not so painful is that I'm enjoying going fast on the mtb ride, but not so for the other efforts. But that doesnt really explain the easier breathing.

Another thought is that on road and spin bike, only a few major leg muscles are doing all the work to get the heart pumping so heavily, so they should be burning a lot. On the mtb I'm also using arms, back, core, support muscles, and maybe even more leg muscles due to different positions. So more muscles working and requiring oxygen would get the HR higher, but again, no explanation for easier breathing.

So I have to ask, what gives? Is this normal for everyone?

Furthermore, what does this mean for road training vs mtb training? What is more important to do on the mtb- base training or threshold?

any opinions appreciated

i'm no expert. but i'll throw a couple things out there...

I guess one reason its not so painful is that I'm enjoying going fast on the mtb ride, but not so for the other efforts. But that doesnt really explain the easier breathing.