Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Oct 2011

How many hours training needed to compete at a good level?

Guys,

I posted this in the endurance section, not realising that that endurance means real endurance, lol. Anyways I was advised to post here so...

Simple question really, how many hours do you guys that compete spend training generally per week.

I'm totally new to racing and just curious what the usual training load in terms of duration is like for the average mtb xc racer? I'm a family man with a full time job and a part time business so my time is limited and I'm wondering if I will be able to get anywhere near the training levels of other competitors!

Oh yeah and the races I'm hoping to compete in are all under 1.5 hours.

I have juts bought, The Time-crunched Cyclist: Fit, Fast and Powerful in 6 Hours a Week Time-Crunched Athlete: Amazon.co.uk: Chris Carmichael, Jim Rutberg: Books

but I'm curious to know how much of a disadvantage someone who can only train 6 hours per week is at compared to those who train much longer, assuming com[eting in XC 1.5hr races?

mtbr member
    May 2010
    I trained about 6-8 hours a week and it was good enough to get me in top podium spots in Women's Sport last year. I spent about the same amount of time this past season training for Women's Elite and it was not enough to compete at that level.
    Angie
    Check out my website!

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by Fooksache View Post
    Guys,

I posted this in the endurance section, not realising that that endurance means real endurance, lol. Anyways I was advised to post here so...

Simple question really, how many hours do you guys that compete spend training generally per week.