i worship Mr T

hey glenzx! 21 miles in 1 hr 4 min...

what'd you do last night?

for those who are wondering why in the world i would post such a thing, glen and i have encountered some "issues", shall we say, in our top end intensity at our early season xc races. granted, glen lacking intensity is fighting for 4th while i'm happy to finish in the top 10. however, we both agree that we need to get out and do some red-line, roll-your-eyes-back-into-your-head intensity training to bring ourselves up to where we want to be in future races. my answer to this is to go out and do a hammerhead group road ride once/week in addition to my other training.

the ride i picked is one i have never done before and has a reputation for being blazing balls-to-the-wall fast straight out of the parking lot. i did the first 20 min of it 2 weeks ago and hung on by my fingernails to the lead group but surely would have been shed off quickly had we not turned off early.

this week i committed to doing the whole ride only to be somewhat thwarted by snarled traffic that made my commute home 70 minutes rather than the usual 45-50 min. grrr. pressed for time, and with horrendous weather looming we chose to drive to the ride. unfortunately this did not give me the necessary 25 minute warm up so i sprinted out of the parking lot on cold legs. this is a hilly ride and the group sprints (and i do mean SPRINTS) up every hill. oof!

15 min into the ride my HR was red lined and i was gapped off the back of the lead group. a group of about 8 of us formed a chase group and chased....and chased....and chased. i drafted, i pulled, my HR never dropped below 180, and i was happy to hear that other people's breathing was more labored than mine.

we finished out the ride about 2 minutes behind the lead group, and about 10 minutes ahead of the rain.