GMM
    mtbr member

Help: T-1 Week and in Trouble

So the race I have been training for a few months is next Saturday (8/03/13), and I feel like I have zero power the last couple of weeks. I have followed a base-build program, and have averaged about 9 hours a week on my "on" weeks. I have been riding for a long time so this isn't a case of riding a bunch more than I typically do although my hours are certainly up this year.

The last two weeks I have backed off on intensity and volume. But my legs feel heavy even on my easy rides-- and even sore the next day. Last week I wanted to try to get some volume in so went on a 3 hour road ride, but kept my HR in the low 130's. My legs were toast by that evening.

I pre-road the XC course this weekend and absolutely blew-up. I literally had to find a shady tree and rest for 10 minutes up the climb. I didn't ride at all during the week hoping to get a complete rest

At this point, I think maybe the race isn't going to happen, although I would Hate to miss it. Any advice? I haven't felt this bad in years. Btw, I am a mid-pack sport rider in this event. To be fair, it's a tough race-- Downieville Classic for those in Northern California. Starts off with a climb that is I think 3,000 ft over the first 8 miles.
    Last edited by GMM; 07-29-2013 at 11:50 AM.

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    if you dont already have one, you need a foam roller.

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    Hydrating properly and eating enough (healthy fueling carbs as well)? Are you getting enough sleep at night?

Maybe also just need a short hard ride to re-awaken the body/legs if you've been taking it easy? Maybe you're fighting illness?

Formerly of Kent
    What Ms. Mann said. Hard ride to wake up the legs.

Only time I ever tapered for a race or series of races, I got physically crushed in the first race (SuperWeek...100km Pro/1/2 crit). After that, I kept on feeling better and better over the course of two weeks.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010