08anthem adv 1x9 23.5lbs
    Jun 2005

Help with fast starts in cat 1

I am not new to racing by any means. I have been raing for about 15 years. I have always struggled with the fast starts that we do. I have tried every way to warm up, but as soon as they say go, I cn keep up with the top 5 for 800 meters and then I blow up, and can't maintain their pace and end up near the back of the pack. After a bit I start regaining my strength and am able to start picking some off. There has only oneracewhere i went hard off the line and stayed out front the whole race(big bear2005).
    So my question is how do I stay with the front group? I spend about10 ish hrs a wk training, which is not real strict and really have not done any interval work in about 2 yrs. The year I had a strict training program, I think I burnt my self out mid season. Help please.thanks

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    what i am hearing is that you don't warm up properly....
    My wife's website....
    Allison Mann

08anthem adv 1x9 23.5lbs
    Jun 2005
    but i am 40 min total on trainer easy warm up in beginning get hr to 112 for a few then jump up to 12-130 for a few, get off, pee, stretch get back on get up to 130 and start raising it and do two ramp up hard pulls to get up to 165 for a min or so then back off and do again and get off bike and get ready to head to the starting area. sit there for about 15min or so depending if they are on time , hr is around 90 to 100 and then the gun goes off and with in 15sec the hr is up to 167 to 170 and bam . I feel that is a good warm up . got this from some of the pro's out there. What do you have in mind whybotherme?

CB2
    Jam Econo
    I wouldn't worry about it too much. From my experience, unless there is some crazy bottleneck 100 meters from the line going into the singletrack it will all sort out in the end.

mtbr member
    Jun 2007