mtbr member
    Oct 2003

Help! Cramp(stitch) in my side

I am a newbie and last week I raced my first race, I went out to hard and blew up like a bomb. After this I did some research to correct my obvious mistakes and my next race went much better. I raced the sport class and finished 4th. YOOOHOOO!
    OK, here is my question. During my second race everything went great except on the second lap when I experienced a cramp in my side that kept getting worse untill it forced me to stop. It was pretty bad and caused alot of pain.(lost alot of time as well)

Can anyone tell me what this is and what causes it. Oh ya, and how to stop it

Thanks,

Jason.

Riding a Rig.
    Well, I would say its probably the way you are breathing. I tend to get a cramp in my side if I don't pace my breathing. Try breathing in through your nose and out through your mouth. Also, I try to further pace my breathing based on my leg movements. So, breath in through your nose when your pushing down with your right leg, and then breath out through your mouth when pushing down with your left leg. You might have to modify that for riding a bike, but its always worked for me while running.

pewpewpew Moderator
    Some people think that side cramps are from a spasm in the diaphragm, in which case Vulcan's advice is very useful.

For me personally, I will get cramps if I eat too much or too soon before riding hard, or even from drinking too much water. Similar to when mom used to warn you not to go swimming for 30 minutes after lunch - when blood is diverted to your legs and not to your stomach to help in digestion it can cramp. I avoid this by either eating easily digestible things far enough before exercising to not cramp, or using gels and drinks around and during exercise.