mtbr member

Heat Stroke and hydration...

At the end of my race I had to be taken by ambulance to the hospital. I had severe heat stroke and needed to be "iced" to bring my temp down and needed four bags of I V solution.

I've been racing for several years now without any medical needs after a race (incl. crashes!). Raced yesterday in 91F w/ high humidity. Drank a decent amount before the race, though I did not really get a chance to have a gd brkfst. During the race I drank as usual, even increased it a bit due to the heat, which is a 50/50 gatorade water mix, and had 3 hammergels throughout the race, incl one at the start. After the first lap, which felt great, I started to feel like I needed to thow up, but kept on going. I was pushing real hard and knew I was, but have done so before too without serious consequences (other than cramping and being really tired!) After I crossed the finish line I began to be confused, dizzy, and started to trow up all the gatorade I had drank during the race and a lot came up!!!!

It seems like I was drinking enough as I there was plenty to come up, but that my body was not absorbing it!! So I am wondering where I went wrong? At this point my theory is that my body was not absorbing the gatorade. Should I drink just water? Drink some other sports drinks (which will have to happen as I can never really drink gatorde again after it coming up like that). Any ideas or input would be greatly appreciated. thnx
    Before you buy anything online, send Bob at bikerbob.com an email! Best online retailer!

My bike/ race Blog

mtbr member
    Jul 2006
    I'm Not a Doctor, and this is just my opinion from past experiences, but high sugar drinks like gatorade do not do well in high temp situations, I have much better luck with Hammer Nutrition Endurolytes( which is high mineral and salt content pill) and Elite( which is also an electrolyte liquid you put with your water). maybe give that a try!!

Best of luck!!

It's about showing up.