Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Big Damn Hero

Heart Rate: How high is too high?

So the thread title gets right to it, how high of a heart rate is bordering on unsafe? First off, I realize that each person is different and that only a doctor should provide the guidance I seek, but I just wanted to get some of your folks thoughts.

Some background info: I am pretty new to racing (only done four in the past 12 months) and I generally finish around the top 50% within my class Cat 3 30 Ė 39. I am 6í3 175lbs. I generally have a higher heart rate than my buddies while we ride, but my also tends to drop off quite a bit quicker than theirs. While slightly exaggerated, we likened it to their hear rate profile looking like rolling hills while mine looks like peaks and valleys.

Due to work/family schedule Iím relegated to riding on the trainer 2/3 times a week and get out on my bikes only once a week. I try to put in around 6 hours a week on the bikes. I keep all of my heart rate stats for every ride whether itís on the trainer, road or trails. I generally tend to average around mid 165-170 bpm on my trainer which feels relatively rigorous. On road rides I average pretty much the exact same, 165 Ė 170 bpm with a max in the low 180s. Trail rides tend to average a bit higher at around 175 Ė 180 bpm with a max in the low 190s. My resting heart rate is typically around 55-59 bpm.

My first race of the year (Bluff Creek Ranch, Ward, TX) was 7.5 mile sprint race where I averaged 185 bpm for the 41 minute race. Last weekend was my second race (Double Lakes, Coldspring, TX) where I averaged a ridiculous 195 with a max of 205 for the 12.5 mile 60 minute race! The weather conditions and trail type were about as different as can be, but Iíve never seen numbers like those at Double Lakes and frankly it was a hard race but it didnít seem that insane. :-)