pain intolerant
    Apr 2006

Good Peaking Article

Although I'm no expert, I thought the author did a good job of describing how and why our bodies "peak". His peaking strategy seems consistent with Joe Friel's Mountain Biking Training Bible and other training books I've read.

I'd be curious to hear what other mtbr training geeks think.

To peak or not to peak ? and why our bodies can fool us

From the article:
    "When we are going hard on the bike, our bodies aren’t saying, “Hey, I’m winning the race!” Our bodies are saying, “Man, I’m running away from a big lion!”

mtbr member
    Sounds like they are describing a little bit different take on peaking. But it's not going to change what anyone does really, it's just explaining another mechanism of peaking.

It's still the same 3 steps though: overload, recover, and supercompensation.

Nice to have Todd Wells contribute to article: “For me, it’s a two-month build up and I try to get it within a week… If it’s the optimal situation, I like to take a short break, six or seven days off or super-easy. Then a couple weeks overtraining with big volume, then a couple weeks of intensity, then a little rest and hit the target event.”

Still sounds like Base, build, peak to me.
    Head Coach, Ben Lomond HS MTB Team
    www.utahmtb.org
    Cycling Team and local Club:
    http://www.roostersbikersedge.com/

mtbr member
    Apr 2009

Good Peaking Article

Great article. Thank you for sharing that.

mtbr member
    Agree, good article. But it has me wondering about something... Joe Friel recommends doing your FTP test on your first day back after a rest week. But according to this article, you are likely to feel slow and sluggish when you resume training after a break. Sounds like that might not be the best time to conduct an FTP test. I need all the natural painkillers I can get for a 20 or 30 min. all out interval!

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by jcm01 View Post