Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Oct 2010

FTP 300 W, 20 min 400 W (standing)

Hello,

I have a problem, my current FTP (1 h power) is 300 W ( I am 155 lb). But in 20 min I can do 400 W, but only out from saddle in 60-65 cadence. If I try to sit it seems impossible to put enough force to the pedals.

My background, I'm 29 years old and been riding ~1,5 year. I have done racing in cross country skiing many years, which has giving me an ok VO2 max. I think it necessary for XC-mtb races.

What type of training you suggest to improve my riding from saddle? Stand on the bike and pedaling has always been very easy to me. On the saddle my legs feels weak.

Sorry my poor english, not my own language.

Jon

mtbr member
    May 2008
    Are you trying to push too big of a gear? Have you tried spinning at 90 rpm sitting? I'd say next get a professional bike fit. No reason you shouldn't be able to sit and out the power down. But I'm no expert.

mtbr member
    Oct 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by floxy
    Are you trying to push too big of a gear? Have you tried spinning at 90 rpm sitting? I'd say next get a professional bike fit. No reason you shouldn't be able to sit and out the power down. But I'm no expert.
    On my own bike I have tried to use higher cadence also, even more than 100. But there is no way I can put out a same power as when I'm standing and riding in cadence ~65.

The test bike was ergometer without gears (power automatically adjust, lower cadence -> harder resistance), and yes I tried to spin over 90 and even over 100 rpm... I could not do it for long but after I stand up and the cadence decreased I continued several minutes.

Maybe I should get a professional bike fit. At least then I would know that the problem is not in my saddle height etc.

I just dont't understand why there is so big difference in riding from saddle vs standing. There must be something wrong in my riding position.

mtbr member
    Nov 2004